Wine for Thought

Hi, I'm Veronique Raskin and I am the founder & CEO of The Organic Wine Company. My blog is mostly about organic wine & self-development, as well as anything else that interests and inspires me!

Happy 2014 and an Aha! moment worth sharing

Dear Friends,

A very Happy New Year to you!

633

I don’t know about you but sometimes, especially around the holidays, I can feel a bit of “gratitude fatigue.” We are told that the secret to everything – from whitening your teeth, to getting ‘ lucky ‘, to becoming a millionaire is to be grateful.  What a buzz! Personally, I’ll be grateful to see the word gratitude restored to it’s rightful position as a powerful emotion springing from respect, humility and appreciating what one has in quiet and personal ways .

This holiday season I was reminded once more that God has a sense of humor. I have a wonderful housekeeper from Guatemala. I’ve known Caterina for over ten years, and she is clearly one of my teachers. Over the years we have established a friendship and she has shared  much about her life  with me. I am amazed to see a woman who is no stranger to hardship move about with such a light heart and dignity of spirit. I know when Caterina is here that she will add smiles and laughter to my day. She is someone who  always reminds me of the power of joy.

If you are like me, the holiday season comes bearing both gifts and challenges, and last month there were a few days when I was more than a bit exasperated. On Caterina ‘s work day, I had wrapped a couple of small gifts for her. As she was opening them I said to her, “Thank you for taking such good care of my home, and being such a good person.”  She instantly turned her face  to me with  and incredible intensity. Her eyes were wide, not filled with her habitual laughter and smiles, but  with unexpected seriousness. S he replied, “Oh no Doña Veronica, no! Soy yo. It is me who thanks you, Doña Veronica. It is me who thanks you for giving me work, and it is me who prays that God will continue to give you work so you can keep giving me work.”

To say I was stunned is an understatement.

At that precise moment, I understood the true meaning of gratitude & impact. It was as though this woman had sent this ball of warm light out of her heart directly into mine, with complete candor and honesty. I was floored. I was completely unprepared for such a display of appreciation. To me, she had just demonstrated  gratitude in action.  Her spontaneous & deeply felt expression of gratitude reminded me of how much I take for granted. It was a potent and refreshing gift that has stayed with me and it is one that I want to pass along to you.

So, my dear OWC fans, allow me to thank you from the same place in my heart that Caterina spoke from in hers. Here  at the beginning of this New Year, I want to thank each of you for supporting my company,  my vision and my team. For us at the Organic Wine Company our work is more than simply providing  you and your friends with a lovely glass of wine. When you choose our wines, you are sending a love note to our Earth, to the one ocean that flows  from  clouds  into  rivers and lakes and through our blood and sweat and tears. You are helping to save honeybees from death by pesticides, while cleaning the air and restoring the soil. Not to mention, preventing dreadful diseases from spreading to our farmers. I thank you for understanding what we are up to and for helping to spread the word.

We collaborate with an untold number of outstanding people – our suppliers around the world who fight to keep their family estates alive .  We are immensely indebted to organizations like the Pesticide Action Network for alerting us all to the perils of industrial agriculture, and to people  like  our friend Thom Hartmann, who is promoting organic farming as  one of the means to curb climate crisis. The circle is complete.

 Your purchase of our wines may seem insignificantt to some but it has far reaching implications. It impacts and benefits our Earth and our bodies. It honors our ancestors, inspires our friends and families and announces a brighter future for our children and grandchildren.

Therefore  as my Caterina would say, “Soy yo.” It is me who thanks you for helping me to do my  work. Enjoy our wines, enjoy their meaning, enjoy your contribution to our world. Happy New Year !

With much gratitude,

Veronique and the Team

P.S. By the way I answer my own phone and I do look forward to talking with you (Tuesday through Saturday 9-6pm PST). I love to hear from you and answer any questions you may have.

One comment on “Happy 2014 and an Aha! moment worth sharing

  1. grace swanson
    January 15, 2014

    thank you Veronique for taking the time to talk with me on the phone..
    your holiday note is beautiful.. it speaks of your heart…thank you..

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on January 12, 2014 by in Uncategorized.
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

